BLUES4U
In The Mood  CPVCD1401

 

"Swedish four-piece BLUES4U have a fine rocking instrumental on their CD In The Mood on CeePeeVee Records (CPVCD1401). With elements of both Freddy King and the driving Louisiana swamp-blues sound No I.D. is a winner"

-Norman Darwen, Pipeline Magasine, UK 2009




"Plattan är kanon och bandet är suveränt!"

-Håkan Forshult, Last Buzz Record Co. 2009

 

"This Swedish band includes high-star players, like on vocals&harps Mathias Anderse'n and also on vocals & guitars Thomas Hammarlund. Mathias works on this release mostly as a front-man, but on the other hand, Thomas has made major part of the new tracks. And they are really made well with respect for old blues-tradition. The rhythm-backbone includes on a double-bass Stefan Lindell and drummer Michael Johansson. Also there are some special guest stars like on piano Fredik von Werder and also on guitar Claes Parmland himself.

Already a list of tracks by eyes, shows easily, that like many other white musicians Mathias' biggest idol is himself SBW II alias Rice Miller. Unfortunately too young died Michael "Cub" Coda wrote some years ago well about SBW II; the personality and background of him are just perfect for a blues-legend and also his tunes were all of them small art-pieces. From these tunes, "Ninety-Nine", has got flavour from master's Checker-recordings, which can be heard as interesting small-combo interpretation.

In "Nine Below Zero" Anderse'n has got with him like in some SBW's private European recodings, just on the backside a bass. "Bye Bye Bird" is made same way, as a solo-number.

After some listenings, I started to wonder, who is the best keeper of the flame for Rice Miller, our Sonny Boy Magnusson or our neighbour Mathias? After thinking about this matter, I decided to make a conclusion, it is more important to think and wonder, that luckily we have this kind of skillfull and cool cats alive.

So welcome to Finland BLUES4U, who of course have in their set a lot of tracks from Hammarlund with his strong slide playing and even some attractive ballads."

-Vesa Walamies, Finnish Blues News, 2009

 

"Jag gillade verkligen BLUES4U cd´n. Rått genuint sound med bra och varierat låtval. De spår som stack ut var de två lite jazzigare låtarna. En mycket fin tolkning av Nine Below Zero. Cd'n gav mersmak att avnjuta detta band live."

-Göran Broling, Gnosjö, 2009

 

"Blues4U spelar blues som det en gång spelades på 50- och 60-talen, men i en ny, fräsch tappning. Främst från Chicago och Louisiana. Det är blues ur manual 1A. Tryggt och stabilt. Men ändå omväxlande. Med en kombination av egna kompositioner och andras låtar. Ibland frontar Mathias med sitt munspel och ibland tar Thomas ledningen med sin gitarr."

"Blues4U har en förmåga att ge liv och njutning åt något som skulle kunna bli precis hur tråkigt och andefattigt som helst. Vi har hört det förr, många har gjort det och originalen är starka bluesnamn i sin egen rätt. Varför utmana ödet? När det blir så bra som Blues4U gör det är det värt besväret. Även om allt inte är lysande, så är det helt ok att låta Howling Wolf yla in, Elmore James vina runt och Sonny Boy Williamsons böjda toner nästan så stilla. Mathias Anderse'n kan sin Sonny Boy . Känslosamt och vördnadsfullt. Han gör Sonny Boys spår mycket bra, inte minst "Nine Below Zero". I Jr Wells "Early In The Morning" är det faktiskt den gästande Fredrik von Werder på piano som lyser mest. Ett helt igenom galant gästspel. Sju spår från Thomas Hammarlund i varierande form och ton. Taktfast Chicagoblues blandas med snabbare instrumentallåtar och struttig blues. Den envetet hypnotiska "Come In The Mood" är en av plattans höjdpunkter. Här förenas alla fyra i en gemensam voodoodans, lika förtrollande som oumbärlig."

"Blues4U gör med "In The Mood" att jag kommer i stämmning. Det lyckas inte alla med kan jag säga."

-Staffan Solding, Jefferson Blues Mag. #158, 2008

 

"This label specialises in Swedish blues who remain faithful to the originators, with an eye for detail and an obvious love for the music - no rock stuff here, folks!

This description certainly fits Blues4U, a four-piece under leadership of singer/harpman Mathias Anderse´n and guitarist/singer Thomas Hammarlund, with a subtle rhythm section and a couple of guests to round out the sound simetimes. The longest number clocks in at just over four minutes; half of the fourteen tracks are less than three, so that many songs are in the classic blues single format. Stylistically, most fall into a Chicago or swamp-blues bag, with three diversions, respectively, into Charles Brown territory, down-home Mississippi and even a fine pop-blues. There are three Rice Miller numbers and on "Nine Below Zero" and "Bye Bye Bird", you can even hear the harmonica reeds vibrating.

Good stuff indeed!"

-Norman Darwen, Blues & Rhythm # 235, UK, 2008


"-Thanx Claes for awesome CD"   -Dj Krunodlak, VFM RADIO, Vinkovci/Croatia.

 

"When you take into consideration the fact that Blues4U are from and reside in Sweden their recordings become all the more impressive and their music more rewarding when you hear the quality of their performance. For, all the artists that record for the CeePeeVee label share an affinity and obvious love for the classic period of the fifties and sixties.

The deep, warmly enveloping chocolaty sound that pours from the speakers like treacle seems to be of a rich and exquisitely inventive mixture of Chicago and Louisiana blues which is all wrapped up in a gorgeous languid production technique that is greatly reminiscent of the wonderful music that was created by the late great Jay Miller.

The members of the band are Mathias Andersen; vocals and harmonica, Thomas Hammarlund; Vocals and guitars, Stefan Lindell; upright bass, and Michael Johansson; drums, with special guests, Fedrick Von Werder; piano, Claes Parmland; guitar.

Of the fourteen succulent and juicy numbers on the album eight are originals, not that you would notice because the high quality of writing and musicianship seamlessly merges the old with the new.

Mathias and Thomas each have suitably alluring vocals that appear to have been ravaged and scarred over the years by copious imbibing of whiskey and cigarettes.

The insistently twisting and turning hypnotic harmonica which contains definite echoes of Lazy Lester and Slim Harpo throughout the album; is impeccably matched with the urging and enticing but, seemingly reluctant Jazz tinged spine-tingling guitar twangin’ that pervades throughout the proceedings; this is all held together by a wonderfully understated piano, upright bass and drum combination. Whether the numbers are slowburners, shuffles or irresistible footappers, the quality of the music, enthusiasm and effort are guaranteed for your enjoyment."

-Simply essential!

-Brian Harman, England, Nov 2008

 


"Tack för senaste skivan du skickade "IN THE MOOD" med BLUES4U jag gillar den starkt, en härlig blues cd med det gamla ruffiga soundet från 50talet. "No I.D." visar en Mr. Hammarlund i härlig form. "I´m Gone" och "New Address" är riktiga pärlor med gött gung."

"Ännu en pärla från ditt utmärkta skivbolag, tack Claes, du behövs!"

-Claes Runbalk, Mölndal, 2008.

 

"Tenkte bare jeg skulle skrive å si at Blues4U var en stor positiv overraskelse. Bortsett fra gitarist Hammarlund, hadde jeg ikke hørt om noen av gutta i bandet. Det låter 100 prosent autentisk både når det gjelder lyd, spilling og låtutvalg. Og Hammarlund er fantastisk gjennom hele plata! Gleder meg til neste utgivelse."

- Thomas Andersen, Norge, 2008

 

"More excellent blues from Sweden."

-Jerry Hall, Pacific Blues, USA, Oct. 2008

 

"KANON, i really dig it!"

-Roger Sannemo, Strömsund, 2008

 

"Blues4U sounds like Slim Harpo jamming with Little Walter's band and the other way around. It's a cool sound as you don't hear such a mix too often
these days. Andersen & Hammarlund are a dynamic duo, like Junior & Buddy. Speaking of that it is obvious those guys spent a lot of time absorbing
classic blues songs as their original material sounds very classy and true to the spirit of the blues. Hammarlund's guitar playing is tasty as hell
and Andersen's harp is juicy as a fresh peach. With strong vocals traded by both of them, tight rhythm section and a new idea when it comes to
mixing Chicago sound with the Louisiana one "In The Mood" is as good as it gets. Not by European standards, but by great blues standards!"

-Przemek Draheim, BlueDJ, Poland, Sept 2008

Various Artists
10th Year Anniversary  CPVCD1301

 

"Thomas Hammarlund covers Freddie Kings Funnybone nicely, on the various overview of the Scandinavian blues scene
10th Year Anniversary from CeePeeVee Records (CPVCD1301). An excellent R&B sax workout from Jacob Norgren in
Pageboy Shuffle, an exciting Chicago styled blues harmonica piece from Sture Elldin, a jumping blues guitar shuffle from
Conny Aidanpää and an excellent slide guitar instro by Sven Zetterberg in his own Tribute to Red.

Worth checking out for all you blueslovers in the house."

-Norman Darwen, Pipeline Magasine, UK 2009

 

"This album could almost be subtitled Big City Rhythm vol.3 if it wasn’t for the fact that all of the twenty two numbers featured on this CD are from the vaults of CeePeeVee Records, which have lain on the shelves untouched for at least ten years. Now that we can hear them for ourselves, I can categorically state that there is not one of these numbers that doesn’t stand not only the test of time but, more importantly the very high standard of quality we have come to expect from CeePeeVee Records.

Virtually all the fun loving and heartbreaking genres of the forties and fifties are represented here; Jump blues, swing, vintage R&B, the Blues of Westside, Chicago. Cool, cool Harmonica forays and richly picked Jazz lounge sounding crooners and movers. Every number sounds as if it was not only written and recorded before the days of Rock’n’Roll were upon us but when people were still spending their demob money. Footapping, richly golden brown guitar runs juxtaposed with delicate rolling and sometimes crashing piano breaks are interspersed with contrasting sharp or sweetly sublime harmonica; alongside sweeping, crisp, clean drums, that are backed but not overshadowed by honking or highly fattening chocolate brown sounding saxophone, all wrapped up in a glowingly relaxed and comforting production.

Label owner and musician Claes Parmland has not once wavered from his commitment to provide the world with classic quality music which also reaches into the soul and firmly grasps the essence of the Blues with both hands. It also should be taken into account that all the musicians on this and all previous CeePeeVee recordings are from Sweden; they represent not only a very talented collection of present day blues players but they can also look back on a rich Blues and Jazz heritage.

If you like the rich creamy blues of the forties and fifties, this is for you. In fact if you like good music it’s for you!"

-Brian Harman, UK

 

"With great CDs by Emil & The Ecstatics and Sture Elldin Cee Pee Vee was one of the most interesting labels to be presented in my shows. Now, with the anniversary sampler I can see your label has much more to offer. 22 killer tracks showcasing different shades of classic Chicago and West Coast Blues, always tasteful and enjoyable as hell! The thing that immediately separates Cee Pee Vee from other blues companies is your attitude towards sound – it’s vintage, with a lot of air in the music, pure analog, just like in the 50s and 60s. That makes all your recordings stand out and that’s a good thing. Whether it’s harmonica blues of Sture Elldin or Harmonica Henry, guitar driven leads of Danny & The Cappers, ensemble sound of Blues Down Town (extremely satisfying, as I should mention) or deep blues singing by Sven Zetterberg it’s all first class blues played with passion and respect for tradition. In a world full of guitar pyrotechnics Cee Pee Vee’s music is a blessing. An essential compilation CD!"

-Przemek Draheim, Radio DJ, Poland

 

"CeePeeVee Records 12 releases have shown, specially within a long timeframe, how much good style, professional players and attitude comes from Swedish players. The most successful one has been the year of 2000 release, "Horton's Briefcase" which included six different Swedish harpplayers. This "10th Anniversary" cd includes samples from not before released cd's which have as already said, very excellent played harp-blues, but not forgetting guitars and sometimes saxes. But anyhow, this is a more than welcome release for fans of good music!"

-Vesa Walamies, Finnish Blues News

 

"Congratulations on a great job! I know it’s more a labor of love than money which is both nice and unfortunate at the same time because the quality of the music, the recording and the playing are all well above anything over here in America for this genre of music. Like the other CD’s, this one is wonderful. I have some favorites. Perhaps my favorite is the “Sad Memories” by Blues Down Town. I really like the vibe captured by the lead guitarist and the vocalist. I also enjoyed the very different “ I Could Have Told You” by Phil Trigwell. All the songs are extremely authentic…true and honest in every detail from the tones to the production. No one is over-playing which is standard these days for most recordings. Finally I must say that the design for the CD cover is wonderful. A VERY creative idea to make it look identical to the CD itself and the CD tray!"

-Jim Dulfer, Florida, USA

 

"Presviously unreleased recordings from the vaults of theis Swedish blues record label. Exciting stuff."

-Bear Family Records, Germany, 2008

 

"Fick tag på "jubileumsplattan" för någon vecka sedan, nu går den varm. Det är så jävla bra att du lyfter fram denna musik och dessutom med ett "naturtroget" sound."

-Anders Öhlund, Bluesman, Luleå

 

"Over the years CeePeeCee releases by acts such as Blues Down Town (with Per Notini - Magic Sam fans know him as pianist Stockholm Slim) and Danny & The Cappers, and collections like "Back To Their Roots" and the two volume "Big City Rhythm" have all been well received in B&R. This 22-track album reviews the label's output to date, all previously unissued material from the Swedish blues scene and as those aforementioned albums, virtually all classy, straight-ahead blues - no blues-rock, and almost every track 45rpm single length. The music tends to fall into either West-side Chicago or vintage r&b styles, with a little rock 'n' roll, swamp-blues and Englishman Phil Triggwell's two ballads to vary things a little. Check this out if you enjoy the likes of Sven Zetterberg or Mike Sanchez's mate Knock-Out Greg - or just to hear some fine blues."

-Norman Darwen, Blues & Rhythm, no. 230 June 2008, UK

 


"As a bass player - I must give credit to Lennart Fagerström for his wonderful Jack Meyers bass melody style on Sad Memories. He owns the rhythm, has a drop of delay from the drums that gives the song a nerve and tease."

-Kenneth Pettersson, Södertälje 2008

 

"Jeg synes det nok engang er en fantastisk fin utgivelse fra CeePeeVee. Ikke noe som tyder på at dette er overflødig materiale fra noen av artistene! En stor glede å høre flere spor fra Harmonica Henry og Sven Zetterberg. Synd det ikke var flere cut-outs fra Knockout Greg, men sånn er det. Lyden er som vanlig herlig gjennom hele plata, og med 22 spor er det bare å sette seg tilbake å nyte denne utgivelsen. Keep it real!"

-Thomas Andersen, Norway 2008

"......och som vanligt en kanonskiva ännu en gång. ”Sad Memories” med Blues Down Town, vilken härlig slow blues."

-Claes Runbalk, Mölndal 2008


"Ytterligare en CD av högsta kvalité! Svårt att välja ut några speciella favoriter här, men Sven Zetterbergs två bidrag är definitivt bland dem. Harmonica Henrys härliga Louisiana stuk i "If You Think I've Lost You" är en annan. Antalet frontmusiker ger bra variation. Finns ju alltid en risk att det blir spretigt med "för många kockar", men konceptet har visat sig fungera utmärkt i dina tidigare produktioner och gör det denna gången också. Finns det ytterligare material av samma höga klass som ligger och samlar damm så hoppas jag det kommer att ges ut framöver."

-Göran Broling, Gnosjö 2008


"Det jag gillade allra bäst var Svenne Zetterbergs "tribute to red" och honkan "slow down baby" dom var riktigt ruffiga, iskallt! Sen tyckte jag att Mathias Anderse'n (har aldrig hört snubben förrut) gjorde en bra och kaxxig version av Jr. Wells låten "I got a stomach ache", det kan ju inte vara så himla lätt, riktigt bra !! Slamhammer med Sture Elldin var också tung, aktoritet, Stefan spelar bra, riktigt bra trummor tycker jag. Han brukar lira lite försiktigt, men här tar han spets. Blues Down Town's "Left me with a broken heart" hade JAG velat lira på, den hade ni fått riktigt suveränt häng på."

-Patric "Big Eye" Danielsson, Gnesta 2008


"En massa blues-bra! Du är en av Stockholms sanna hjältar."

-Anders Lewe´n, Stockholm 2008

Emil & The Ecstatics
LEGACY  CPVCD1201

 

"Fantastisk Memphis soul med Don Bryant's - "The Call Of Distress". Det är en enorm låt och ett enormt framförande av Emil & The Ecstatics." "En långsam Magic Sam - "Baby, You Torture My Soul" framförs med klass som allt annat på plattan av Emil & Co." "Det bästa till sist. De två

låtarna som inleder är Otis Rush's - "You Know My Love" och - "Three Times a Fool". Det är grejer det! Tungt blås av tre gubbar ligger snyggt i bakgrunden. Framtiden är säkrad, ett ungt högklassigt svenskt bluesband, hoppas dom håller på när jag fyller 100 år."

-Josh Brenner, Göteborg, Januari 2007

 

"- Emils tolkningar av dessa mästerverk är klockrent!!!!!!!"

-Håkan Winlöf, Sverige 2007

"-It's really great music! If I had to go to this lonely island and there would be only space for ten CDs left - Legacy would be one I'd pick"

-Klaus Deuss, Radio Kanal Ratte, Germany, 2007

 

"Now, I'm listening to "Legacy" for the second time in a row and I can't help but admire your work. The music itself is world class with a tight band and some sweet string bending. Also, your vocals sound more mature than on the debut CD! " "-I'm sure my listeners will enjoy it as much as I do!"

-Przemek Draheim, Radio Sfera, Poland, Dec.2006

 

"Claes Parmland's CPV label is doing a fine job documenting the blues scene of Sweden and this set, the second from young outfit Emil & The Ecstatics is an excellent addition to the catalog."

"The basic premise behind this CD is for Emil to present his interpretations of the music of his rolemodels, the sounds that originally inspired him to play and sing the blues. Simple enough, but it is how he and the band do it that makes this such a commendable CD.

"..each time Emil & Co. avoid the obvious. Not only that, but their performances are exemplary - straigth-forward and no-nonsense - whether the style is deep blues, up tempo blues, deep soul or roadhouse rock."

"The feel of listening to a vintage compilation LP (I'm thinking Hi or Duke here) is compleated by the fact that all of the numbers clock in somewhere between two and a half and four and a half minutes."

" This may not be the most original release of 2006 but it sure is one of the most entertaining. Try it, you'll like it!

Rating: 9

-Norman Darwen, Blues In Britain, UK, December 2006

 

"Emil Arvidsson har röst och omfång och vågar sjunga ut. Då blir det blues som känns långt in i ryggmärgen. Lägg till en tung hammondorgel, en driven bas och fräscha trummor och på toppen en hård gitarr och några gästande musiker. Det är blues med lätt soulkänsla och det är tungt, grymt och hett. Här finns inte en lugn stund. Emil & The Ecstatics öser på hela tiden med riktig blues och så mycket bättre kan det knappst bli." "Köp den här skivan om du gillar blues med tryck!" Omdöme: 4 av 5

-LENNART GÖTESSON,DalaDemokraten, Nov 2006

 

"This is the second album from the highly talented Swedish band, Emil & the Ecstatics; who are; Emil Arvidssson; vocals and guitar, Johan Bendrik; Hammond organ and piano, Mats Hammarlof; bass and Tom Steffensen; drums. The horns on this set are stunningly provided by; Jakob Norgren; baritone sax, Christian Pedersen; tenor sax and Karl Olandersson; trumpet.

Emil states in the sleevenotes that he has chosen to record an album of covers, from six blues and soul legends who have had a positive impact on his life; these being (in no particular order) Otis Rush’s “You Know My Love,” & “Three Times a Fool,” Albert King’s “Wild Woman,” & “Left Hand Woman,” Don Bryant’s “The Call of Distress,” & “She’s Looking Good,” Magic Sam’s “You Belong To Me” & “Baby, You Torture My Soul,” Lonnie Mack’s “Baby, What’s Wrong,” & “Soul Express,” and Little Milton’s “Have Mercy, Baby,” & “Feel So Bad.”

Satisfyingly the recordings here are not faithful note for slavish note copies; they are in fact, deeply heartfelt renditions of numbers originally performed by legendary artists, which over time have become classics. Emil and the Ecstatics performances are presented here with a crisp clarity of delivery. Also the uncluttered and sparse studio production imbues the numbers with an invigorated freshness.

The subtle use of vibrato in Emil’s vocal delivery enhances the overall sound immensely. I found this album of covers to be not only highly listenable but also hugely enjoyable; a very, very tasty collection indeed! Another fine release from CeePeeVee!

Also, an essential addition to your collection!"

-Brian Harman, Art Music Studio, 2006

 


"På sitt andra album efter debuten som Emil & The Ecstatics visar gruppen återigen att de är bland landets - och Europas - elit vad det gäller blues med en stark krydda av soul. Emil Arvidsson har begåvats med en röst som kan smälta hjärtan och få vilket slitet rim som helst att verka nytt.

Han är en duktig gitarrist tillika och backad av ett eminent band med härligt flyt och kräm i orgeln låter det riktigt fint. Denna gång hyllar man sina hjältar ur blueshistorien: Otis Rush, Albert King, Magic Sam, Little Milton, Lonnie Mack samt Don Bryant. Sven Zetterberg får se upp!"

Betyg: 4 av 5

-Björn G Stenberg, Upsala Nya Tidning, Okt. 2006



"......tusen tack för en helt suverän platta.Det var det bästa jag hört på mycket länge. Underbart med lite soulstuk."

-Bengt Redevall, Värnamo, Oktober 2006

 

 

"Soul is soul whether your name is Tyrone, Aretha or Emil. The timeless music of black culture has graced and has been embraced worldwide. Sweden's Emil & The Ecstatics pay tribute to the Soul/Blues genre with an impressive, authentic set of 12 covers on "Legacy" (****). Singer Emil Arvidsson says in the liners he picked six artists who've impacted his life and has cut 2 songs performed by each. Emil's rich, vibrato-heavy voice nails Otis Rush's "You Know My Love" as do his tart guitar licks here and "Three Times A Fool". Next he and the Ecstatics, consisting of Johan Bendrik (organ, piano), Mats Hammarlof & drummer Tom Steffensen, render smoking takes on Albert King's "Wild Woman" & "Left Hand Woman". Jacob Norgren (sax), Christian Pederson (sax) and Karl Olandersson (trumpet) augment Don Bryant's "The Call Of Distress" & "She's Lookin' Good". From there Magic Sam, Lonnie Mack & Little Milton also get 2 song tributes and every single cut is terrific. Britain's James Hunter may be all the rage with his homage to 60's Soul/Blues but Emil & The Ecstatics may just trump that lad. Highly recommended." Visit ecstatics.se for more info.

-Dylann DeAnna,Blues Critic, Encinitas, CA, USA, Nov. 2006

 

 

 


Various Artists
BIG CITY RHYTHM vol 2  CPVCD1101

 

"Jag älskar Big City Rhythm plattorna! Helt suveräna!"

-Karl Eriksson, Ekeby 2009

 

"Cee Pee Vee Records i Stockholm drivs av den tidigare Blues Down Town-gitarristen Claes Parmland. Under de senaste åren har Cee Pee Vee svarat för flera skivutgivningar som rönt stor uppskattning bland landets bluesskribenter.
Big City Rhythm - When Blues Hit Big Town är utgiven i två separata volymer och innehåller inspelningar med artister som verkar i Stockholmsregionen. På de två plattorna finns både kända och mindre kända artister. I flera fall är det musiker som är kompmusiker i kända svenska grupper, som t.ex. Anders Lewén (gitarrist i Knock-Out Greg & Blue Weather), Jonas Göransson och Joakim Barchéus (gitarrist resp. munspelare i Trickbag) m.fl. Den största "kändisen" som medverkar är Sven Zetterberg, men även Marino Valle och Harmonica Henry (Jan Sjöström) är säkert välkända namn för de flesta bluesintresserade.


Det här är två jämna och mycket hörvärda volymer som Cee Pee Vee har släppt. Det finns ganska många låtar av det "jumpigare" slaget på plattorna. Gitarristerna Anders Lewén, Jonas Göransson och Daniel Kordelius (tidigare i Young Guns, numera i Danny & the Cappers) ligger samtliga i West Coast-/jumpfåran, men alla är duktiga gitarrister och gör bra ifrån sig. Emil Arvidsson (tidigare i Young Guns, numera i Emil & the Ecstatics) ligger mera åt Chicagos West Side-stil. Följdriktigt gör han Calling All Blues och It's All Your Fault, båda låtarna på volym 1. Förutom att han är en skicklig gitarrist är han också en av de bästa sångarna på de här tvillingplattorna. En annan bra sångare som förtjänar större uppmärksamhet är Anders Karlsson, tidigare sångare i Blue Hammer. Anders återfinns på båda volymerna med bra egenkomponerade låtar. När jag nämner bra sångare går det naturligtvis inte att gå förbi Marino Valle. Han är en vokalist av yppersta klass som troligtvis har få övermän, om ens någon, i Europa. Här får vi också höra honom plocka fram munspelet i Stuff You Gotta Watch på volym 1 samt Underneath The Apple Tree och Waiting For You på volym 2. En svensk bluesman som jag gillar skarpt är Thomas Grahn. Han har kanske inte den bästa sångrösten i traditionell bemärkelse, men han har en säregen känsla i sin röst - och för all del även i sitt munspelande - som gör att hans musik sticker ut.
Förutom de redan nämnda artisterna medverkar (som frontmän) följande musiker: Torbjörn Eliasson, Tore Berglund, Fredrik Gustafsson, Håkan Johansson, Tommy Moberg och svensk blues senaste stjärnskott Mathias Andersén. Men bäst av alla är ändå Sven Zetterberg som i Robert Nighthawk-inspirerade Since I Got Rid Of You och Elmore James-inspirerade Blues In My Heart visar vem som regerar i svensk blues. Båda dessa låtar återfinns på volym 2. På den andra volymen av Big City Rhythm är faktiskt samtliga 22 låtar originallåtar, skrivna av de medverkande artisterna."


Big City Rhythm, Volume One och Volume Two har på ett utmärkt sätt dokumenterat den stockholmska bluesscenen (och den skiljer sig faktiskt en del från "landsbygdsscenen"). Köp båda dessa volymer och låt storstadsrytmen gripa tag i er!

-Kjell Wikström, BluesBullen.com, Oktober 2006


"Well! Here it is; the second instalment of hot to trot musical magic from Sweden; that land of ice, snow (if global warming hasn’t got there yet!) and exceedingly good taste! Once again we are treated to the dazzling lights and shimmering shadows of the late forties and fifties.
All your favourite musical influences are the usual suspects; Louis Jordan, B.B. King, Slim Harpo, Elmore James, “T-Bone” Walker, Amos Milburn and possibly, Chuck Berry; to name, but a few.

Twenty two tracks of almost, but not! (I hasten to add) clinical precision; All through this album mellow lazily comforting guitarwork lingers happily alongside seemly suicidal piano boogie woogie whilst in the same space and time paint stripping slide cosies up to some breathtaking sax playing. All the vocals are period sympathetic, yet retain twenty first century sensibilities.

The only other musicians I am aware of; who are also playing music of this period with the same passion, honesty, sensitivity, skill and love are Bill Wyman’s Rhythm Kings!
I know that this piece is short and sweet! But what more can I say, except; Buy! Buy! Buy!

-Brian Harman, BluesArtStudio, Vienna, Austria, 2006

 

"Nu har äntligen den het efterlängtade uppföljaren anlänt. I Jefferson # 145 fick jag förmånen att recensera Big City Rhythm vol. 1 och där konstaterade jag att det var lite av gräddan av bluesmusiker i Stockholmstrakten. Några saknade jag, typ Sven Z, Marino V, Knock-Out Greg och Thomas Grahn för att nu nämna några storheter. Men nu på platta nummer 2 är de med och gör verkligen mer än gedigna insatser. Konceptet känns igen från förra skivan. Musiker som vanligtvis inte spelar tillsamman möts och i mötet uppstår näst intill magi.

Soundet följer i stort sett föregångaren, kanske med lite större tonvikt lagd på Chicago stuket. Alltså lite mer bluesigare och det är absolut inget som stör mig på något sätt. Tvärtom, plattan får med det ett bättre fokus. En annan styrka med denna utgåva är att samtliga 22 spår är original. Makalöst bra och skönt att se att våra musiker i Sverige är kapabla att skriva nya låtar med ett resultat som imponerar.

Guldkornen är mer än många och vissa måste man ju bara nämna. Marino Valle gör tillvaron skön med sina sånginsatser på "Underneath The Appeltree" och "Waiting For You". Kul är också att han har tagit fram munspelet igen. Tore Berglunds honkande tenorsax sätter stora avtryck i mitt öra. Speciellt i Robert Ward inspirerade "Big T´s Mood". Här får man inte glömma Anders Lewéns gitarrspel. Mycket likt Wards gitarrlir. I "Can´t Find My Way Back Home" sjunger Knock-Out Greg sådär coolt som bara han kan. Sven Zetterberg lämnar aldrig någon oberörd. Här bjuder han på maffigt slidespel i två låtar och så har vi vällusten där igen. "Since I Got Rid Of You" är en tung sak, men "Blues In My Heart" är en blytung slideare á la Elmore James. En annan personlig favorit som följt med länge är Thomas Grahn. Han är mästare att skapa en "Westside" feeling i sina låtar och i "Feel Brokenhearted" med Anders Lewén på gitarr så infinner sig just den känslan. Thomas är ingen av de riktigt stora vokalisterna men jag gillar hans röst och uttryck enormt mycket.

Som sagt guldkornen är många och det är återigen bara att gratulera Claes Parmland till en kanonproduktion. En lite rad anmärkning har jag till de båda volymerna och det är, varför ska det vara nödvändigt att planka "The Midnighters" plattkonvolut "Their Greatest Hits" rakt av?

Som framgår så är denna platta något av det roligaste som hänt den svenska bluesen på mycket länge. Svensk blues står sig oerhört bra i en internationell jämförelse och det skall vi vara stolta över att vi har så ruskigt bra musiker. Till sist. Blir inte dessa två volymer en svensk bluesklassiker så vet inte jag vad som krävs för att bli det. -Ut nu bluesfans och köp!"

-Jimmy Johansson, Jefferson Blues Mag. #148, 2006

 

"The new CD is magnificient. I am just SO amazed by the skill level of everyone involved. Truly spectacular."

-Jim Dulfer, Florida, USA, June 2006

 

" "Volume 1" was well recieved in Blues & Rhythm # 201 and this second round-up of the contemporary Swedish blues scene is equally welcome. Some artists are reprised from the earlier set, other are newcomers, but all are very impressive.

Stylistically this stretches from Fredrik Gustafsson's fine piano boogie to Marino Valle's convincing southern soul "Waiting For You". In between are the wonderful tenor saxist Tore Berglund's retro instrumentals, jump numbers, classic Chicago styled tracks, Thomas Grahn's lovely Junior Parker pastiche "Out On Loose Ground", and Sven Zetterberg's stunning evocations of Robert Nighthawk and Elmore.

All 22 tracks are originals - some very fine indeed - and the one thing you won't find is any trace of blues-rock. They could teach some English - and American - bands a thing or two; but don't take my word for it, check it out yourself."

-Norman Darwen, Blues & Rhythm # 209, May 2006

 

"Vill bara störa med att ge ett omdöme om Big City Rhythm........kanon helt enkelt, ser fram emot 3:an & 4:an o.s.v....."

-Per-Olof Westin,Tierp, April 2006


"**** I'll admit before I got this gig here at Blues Critic I was oblivious to the fact Swedish folk were so full of Soul! Unbeknownst to me artists like Sven Zetterberg and Marino Valle have been laying down Blues & Soul as good as their Chicago, Memphis, Detroit, USA counterparts for many a moon. This swinging 22-track compilation from CeePeeVee Records is proof positive and a good place to start if you aren't caught up. (Of course Swedish readers are just smiling knowingly as they read this). What's exciting about this music is that it takes you back to the classic eras like 60s B.B. King (Anders Karlson's "Magic Word Boogie"), Bo Diddly (Marino Valle "Underneath The Appletree"), Stax (Valle's "Waiting On You"), Louis Jordan's Jump (Tore Berglund "Hang On"), 50s piano boogie woogie (Fredrik Gustafsson "Freguz Goes Wild"), Chess Harmonica Blues (Anders Lewen "Look At Me") and I could go on. Instead I'll just mention some more highlights like the fantastic saxophone on "Big T's Mood" (Tore Berglund), the pounding, rhythmic "A Heart Full Of You" (Hakan Johansson), "Since I Got Rid Of You" by guitar god Sven Zetterberg, etc........."

Visit www.pacificblues.com if you live in the USA otherwise visit CeePeeVee Records at www.ceepeeveerecords.com

- 4 of 5 **** from Bluescritic, USA, April 2006

 


"Inspelningarna känns nära & direkta även lekande. Bra variation på låtar och de som framför, roligt att Anders Lewén & Jonas Göransson vill ta steget fram på några låtar. Sjunger bra gör ju Niten-Karlsson & Marino, men även Håkan Johansson & Emil. Sedan så är det ju flera jag inte känner till. Men min bild av dem kommer nog att bli klarare"

-Lennart Grääs, Karlstad, April 2006

 

"This is a GREAT album !!"
-Edogawa Slim, Japan, April 2006


"LIVE, FROM STOCKHOLM, SWEDEN IS THE NEW RELEASE OF "BIG CITY RHYTHM VOLUME 2" WITH 22 ORIGINAL TUNES. THE DEBUT OF THIS CD WILL DEFINITELY KNOCK YOUR SOCKS OFF. IF YOU ARE A BLUESAHOLIC AND ENJOY THE SOUND OF JUMP BLUES, JUMP SWING, BOOGIE, ROCK N' SOUL AND LOW DOWN BLUES YOU CAME TO THE RIGHT PLACE. I GUARANTEE IT IS NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART. THESE ARE WELL-SEASONED MUSICIANS THAT PLAY EXTREMELY TIGHT TOGETHER. WITHOUT WARNING, YOU ARE CAUGHT IN A CROSSFIRE BETWEEN WAILIN' HARP, SAX, KEYBOARD & GUITARS THAT IMMEDIATELY LET YOU KNOW THAT THE BLUES HIT BIG TOWN. YOU BETTER HANG ON WHEN YOU LISTEN TO THE SONG HANG ON. "BEWARE OF SLIDE GUITARS." THESE ARE SWEDEN'S HOTTEST, MOST TALENTED, BLUES MUSICIANS GATHERED TOGETHER ON ONE DYNAMITE CD. JUST KICK BACK, RELAX AND LET THE BLUES TAKE YOU AWAY. THIS CD IS ALSO GUARANTEED TO RIP YOUR FRIGGIN' HEART OUT."

"HEY, DID YOU EVER WAKE UP WITH DEM' MEAN OLE BLUES ON YOUR MIND? WELL IT'S A SURE SIGN THAT YOU HAVE "BIG CITY RHYTHM VOLUME 2" ON YOUR MIND. THIS SWEDISH DELIGHT DEFINITELY TREATS YOU RIGHT. THIS CD WILL PUT SOME ROCK IN YOUR SOCK AND SOME PEP IN YOUR STEP."

"DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND BUY THIS CD !"

-Harold Mersky, Pittsburgh, PA, USA, Mars 2006

 


"En uppföljare brukar ju sällan överträffa föregångaren men så är nog fallet här, tycker jag. Förra volymen var fantastisk men tusan vet om inte denna Volume Two är strået vassare ändå. Kanske beror det på att Sven Z:a dyker upp här och gör det med besked! Hans suveräna slidespel på "Since I Got Rid Of You" för direkt tankarna till salig Robert Nighthawk. Man har ju live hört Sven prestera enorm slide, dock är hans slide inte så ofta dokumenterad varken på Chicago Express eller hans egna fina plattor. Anders Lewén och Jonas Göransson måste vara två av våra främsta gitarrister i sin speciella stil. Även de för mig mindre kända namnen gör väldigt bra ifrån sig och man kan bara konstatera att de rätta "vibbarna" måste ha infunnit sig vid de olika inspelningstillfällena."

-Göran Broling, Gnosjö, Mars 2006

 

"Det är bara att bocka och gratulera till två ypperliga produktioner. Så här ska det låta !!!"

-Mats Norin, Delsbo, Mar. 2006

 

 

"Ännu en fantastiskt bra CD från ditt bolag. Jag är helnöjd, kan inte bli så mycket bättre. Bra blandning av olika sångare samt en del fräcka instrumentaler. -Kanon!!!!!"

- Claes Runbalk, Göteborg, Feb. 2006

 

"Yes, CD'en er veldig, veldig bra. Det er bare å gi seg over for dette overskuddshornet av god musikk. Gode låter, utrolig energi og spilleglede og herlig lyd (go Real Music Studio!) Hvis det finnes noe rettferdighet i verden, så selger du massevis av denne plata. Den dokumenterer det jeg har sagt lenge - bluesscenen i Sverige er kanskje ikke så stor, men gud hjelpe meg den er sterk. Jeg er imponert over det du får til med disse utgivelsene og stiller meg først i køen skulle det komme en Vol 3!"

-Thomas Andersen, Oslo, Norge, Feb. 2006

 


Various Artists
BIG CITY RHYTHM vol 1  CPVCD1001


"Jag lyfter således på kepsen för musikerna och för dina fina insatser att dokumentera den svenska genuina bluesscenen. Nu inväntar jag med stor spänning Vol.2"

-Göran Broling, Gnosjö 2006

 

"Här finns musik som låter som den arrangerats av BB King, med blås och mjuka gitarr-riff, men också inspelningar som verkar ha spelats in hemma i garaget...Stilarna blandas friskt...I många låtar svänger det riktigt bra !"

- Christer Nordmark, Värnamo Nyheter 2005


"OVERKLIGT BRA SKIVA !" -Urban Hed, September, 2005

 

"CeeCee Pee Vee har återigen bevisat att man utan tvekan är ett av de mest intressanta svenska bluesskivbolagen idag. Jag tänker naturligtvis på produktioner som Horton´s Briefcase, Back To Their Roots och Blues Down Towns samtliga plattor för att nu bara nämna några. Samtliga är toppenskivor. Nu kan vi lägga ytterligare en till raden av kanonblues: Big City Rhythm. Man har hört att något skulle vara på gång. Att gräddan av blues musiker i Stockholmstrakten skulle ha varit inne i studion och gjort inspelningar som skulle vara något alldeles extra. Nu med resultatet i cd-spelaren kan man bara konstatera att det är på gränsen till onödigt bra.


Som sagt så deltar gräddan av musiker från Stockholm. Saknar väl bara namn som Sven Zetterberg, Thomas Grahn, Greger Andersson och någon till. Plattan är inspelad vid tre olika tillfällen under perioden december 2002 fram till juni 2003. Totalt är det 21 spår med olika konstellationer av musiker som normalt inte lirar med varandra. Utan i detta nya musikaliska möte skapas det musik och vilken musik sedan.


Innehållsmässigt är det inte enbart rak blues utan vi får också höra r&b, soul och lite jazz. Här möts takter från Chicago, New Orleans och självklart Memphis.

Favoriterna duggar tätt på plattan och för att nu bara nämna några så blir det Faith med den otrolige Marino Valle vid sångmicken. En annan höjdare är I Feel So Fine med Anders Karlsson på sång och gitarr. I bakgrunden hör man Harmonica Henry på blått munspel. Emil Arvidsson gör en utmärkt version av Magic Sams gamla It`s All Your Fault. Denna uppräkning skulle kunna omfatta egentligen hela plattan men dessa låtar har satt ett litet extra starkt avtryck i örat.


Det är bara att lyfta på kepsen för Claes Parmland som har genomfört detta projekt. Dessutom skall vi vara tacksamma för att det finns entusiaster som Claes som kan förgylla vår tillvaro med utmärkta skivproduktioner.


Big City Rhythm är volym nummer ett. Man får verkligen hoppas att nummer två är på väg, men till dess kan vi njuta länge av denna utsökta platta. Rusa in i närmaste skivaffär och köp."

- Jimmy Johansson, Jefferson Blues Magazine #145, 2005

 

"In my opinion, it is the BEST CD yet. I absolutely love it. It's different certainly from all the others but, for my personal tastes, this one is the very best. I was so impressed by the opening number in particular. The playing is terrific. The sound, the production, the feel, the ideas, the execution, everything is incredible. I really like this guy Jonas. He has a unique style, certainly influenced by others I listen to, but still very personal. I must have listened to that first song a 100 times already! Not surprisingly, I liked the Bongo Bob songs, Breaking Up, Faith, The Big Bite, I Love You So, Rock This Morning, Curly's Revenge.......Jonas and Anders stuff. I also liked your songs very much and also Harmonica Henry! All in all an excellent CD which you must be very proud of. Good layout and photography too!" -

-Jim Dulfer, Florida, October 2005


"Det här lilla skivbolaget i Stockholm har tidigare gett ut bland annat "Blues Down Town" och "Back To Their Roots" med några av Sveriges bästa bluesartister (tidigare recenserade i AMM) och här är ännu ett album med bluesmusiker, som vanligtvis ingår i välkända bluesband.

Det här är blues på läckert hög nivå med bland annat Jonas Göransson på leadgitarr. Jonas som har spelat med Knock-Out Greg & Blue Weather och det var Jonas som spelade leadgitarr på Refreshments pianist Johan Blohms soloCd. (som för övrigt recenserades i förra numret av AMM) Här finns även Anders Lewén med på tre spår och två har han skrivit själv, till exempel "Breakin' Up" och "Rock This Morning" med störtskönt lite rockbetonat bluesgung. Här finns också Torbjörn Eliasson på saxofon med ett par egna alster och Marcus Andersson på trummor - båda dessa ingår i Knock-Out Gregs band. Daniel Kordelius har här med en kanonlåt "4th & Beale" som svänger så man har svårt att sitta still. Anders Karlsson är ett nytt namn för mig, men efter att ha lyssnat på låten "I Feel So Fine" vill jag gärna höra mer av honom.

Här finns inte bara rena blueslåtar Chicagostyle, här finns stråk av R&B, soul och en inte så liten nypa New Orleans krydda. En produktion med väl genomtänkt mix av låtar och dessutom ett stort plus för utsökt bra ljud, det är förresten något som man kan vara säker på när man läser namnen Claes Parmland och Per Ängqvist, producent och tekniker för albumet. Helt klart har det här albumet en given plats på skivhyllan bland skivfavoriterna. Ett självklart köp!"

-Werna Nordqvist, AMM, November 2005


"Några nya skivor under sommaren. En del är nämnda tidigare, men förtjänar att upprepas. CeePeeVee Records kom med kanonsamlingen Big City Rhythm Vol. 1."

-Jefferson Blues Magazine

"Many thanks for the Big City Rhythm cd I found it to be refreshing, comforting, very authentic, but not nostalgic in any way. Simply great foot-tapping, solid grooving music."

"From the land of ice, snow, dynamite and original Volvos we have; against the expected grain, sweet rockin’ music, encompassing the sounds of; darkened avenues and alleyways to the bright neon lighted, sweaty, interiors of after hour’s clubs. The forties and fifties never sounded so good. Nine, of the quality twenty one numbers on offer here are original compositions; although you would (as I did) have to check the sleeve notes to find out which the standards were and which were the new numbers. The undeniable quality of the music and musicianship on this album ranges from the rich mellow Goree Carter inspired guitar work to the sleazy street lit saxophone sound, interplayed with the atmospherically haunting harmonica, underpinning the spot-on period vocals. This is not merely a trip down memory lane but a twenty first century approach and love for quality timeless music and if you dismiss this album, you do yourself and the music a disservice.

I certainly would like to be more acquainted with the earlier recordings of the artists performing on this album. -Essential listening!"

-Brian Harman,UK Aug. 2005


"Spretig gubb-blues"
Betyg: C C C
Big City Rhythm – Volume one: Olika artister
(CeePeeVee Records/CDA)
"Detta är okonstlad, direkt gubb-blues från Stockholmstrakten. Olika musikerkonstellationer spelar spretigt och ojämnt som livet självt. Bluesambassadören Claes Parmland håller i arbetet och släpper fram 21 låtar. De pendlar från urkass till kanonbra, alltid oblygt, spontan och hängivet. Attityd, rått anslag och hård skärpa blåser ur Harmonica Henrys munspel samt i Daniel Kordelius och Emil Arvidssons skräpiga gitarrer. Lyhörda slitvargen Marcus Anderssons trummor är en bluesröd tråd i låt efter låt."

-Lars Åbom,Östgötacorren, Aug 2005

".......en ny CeePeeVee fullträff !"
-Thomas Grahn,Stockholm,Aug 2005

 

"Best blues from Sweden"
-Lennart Henning, Sverige 2005



"........gillar den skarpt. CeePeeVee Records har verkligen lyckats fånga rätta stämmningen och feelingen på sina cd. Själv har jag nu 7 st från detta fina bolag och ser redan fram emot nästa cd."

-Claes Runbalk,Göteborg,Aug.2005


"Ooh yeah! Mycket fina grejer på CD´n. Vilket smaskigt sound gitarr-gubbsen har. Piano-klirret är perfekt. Härligt med sax. Lätta trummor. Å en stor chromatic-stänkare till sist. CD´n är enorm! "

-Josh Brenner,Göteborg,Juli 2005


"Another interesting "concept" record from CeePeeVee in Sweden. Here's the plan: put a bunch of ace players in the studio that have never played together before, and see what happens in a live, "straight-up" recording. Kinda like they used to do it here back in the day. The 21 cuts run the gamut from Chicago to Memphis, and some R&B and jazz as well. An all-star blues jam that you can hear more than once."

-Jerry Hall,Pacific Blues,USA,July 2005

"This is a 21-track album rounding up nine of the lesser-known but still very talanted names on Sweden's blues scene, recorded over three different sessions. Styles include New Orleans r&b almost Earl Bostic styled sax instrumentals, jump-blues and post-war urban Texas style, though the sound of Chicago is most prominent, and Rice Miller's influence is strongly evident. Emil Arvidsson impresses with covers of Junior Wells and Magic Sam (though there is also plenty of strong original material to be heard), Harmonica Henry and Anders Karlsson reveal themselves to be fine singers, guitarist Jonas Goransson has three instrumentals and a well-sung blues ballad, Daniel Kordelius is nicely down-home, saxman Torbjorn Eliasson suitably quirky, and Anders Lewen, Marino Valle and harpman Joakim Barcheus all turn in fine performances. The names may be unfamiliar but the music is worth hearing."

-Norwan Darwen,Blues&Rhythm #201,UK,2005


"Great Production & Playing. Truly Authentic Blues Played By Europe's Finest."

-Jim Dulfer, Daytona Fl,2005

"Spontaneous jam session. Excellent recording featuring some of the finest Swedish players. If you dig Junior Watson, Lynwood Slim and Rick Holmstrom you'll love this record. This CD is by far better than most anything '40s and '50s style i have recently heard, made in the US. Highly recommended for all lovers of tube-distorted jazz-inspired retro-style blues, excellent harp and vocals."

-Detlev Hoegen,CrossCut Records,Germany,2005

 

"Fantastic cd"
-Fabrizio Berti,Italy,July 2005

 

"Wonderful CD"
-Patty Clanton,Ill.USA,July 2005

 

"Way Kewl"
-Kwinn Kastrosky, Dallas,TX,July 2005

 

"What's a cool sounds!!"
-Hiroshi Takahashi/a.k.a. Edogawa Slim,Japan,2005

 

"That is a great blues compilation. Your new CD is dynamite!"

-Harold Mersky,PA,USA,2005

"Mottok Big City Rhythm i går. Til min store glede er dette en utrolig bra plate. For en samling av talentfulle musikere!! Nok engang står en europeisk plate ut som blant de aller beste jeg har hørt på lenge."

"Takk for en herlig skive!"

- Thomas Andersen, Oslo,Norway,June,2005


"FANTASTISKA musikanter. Bra platta! ....Jonas Göransson - en angenäm upptäckt."

-Kenneth Pettersson,Södertälje,Maj 2005


Danny & The Cappers
Walk Right In    CPVCD901


"När man får en CD som den här i handen blir man lika belåten som en katt som fått en skål grädde"

"Här har Daniel sökt sig tillbaka till tidigt femtiotal och att här finns tydliga swing-influenser à la fytiotal, framgår tydligt. Men här är det jump, jive and blues som har fritt spelrum."

".... -bättre än så här kan det nog inte bli. OjOj. Den här skivan får helt klart en stor guldstjärna."

-Werna Nordqvist, AMM, Sept 2004

 

"Impressive!"

"They really can play"

" ......I'll bet they put on a bloody good live show......."

-Phil Wight, Blues & Rhythm, UK, No.38, 2004


"Det är fullt ös på den här skivan""Det svänger tungt och i varje fall blir jag på gott humör när jag hör musik av det här slaget"
Betyg: 4/5

-Kjell Jansson,Värnamo Nyheter,Sept,2004

 

"Danny & The Cappers svänger enormt med sina rötter i den rockiga bluesfyllda skolan som spelades under fyrtiotalets slut, i den rhythm and blues-anda som var populär företrädelsevis bland färgade i USA vid den tiden."

"Redan i första titeln, "She Walks Right In", promenerar musiken till mitt innersta. Genom som enkelhet."

".......låter stundtals som ett helt storband."

-Thord Ehnberg,Ljusnan,Sept.2004

 


"....det yppersta jag hört i den här stilen av ett svenskt band."

".....vill jag påstå att Danny & The Cappers redan nu har gjort en av de till dags dato bästa jumpbluesplattorna här i landet."

-Olle Wallin,Jefferson Mag.#141,2004


"Oundvikligen måste man på nytt upprepa gamla saker, men här är igen ett lysande exempel på roots-kunnandet hos svenskarna."

"Danny visar sin flexibilitet genom att spela egna smakfulla ackord för att fylla ut helheten istället för att i onödan tränga in solon på varje ställe."

"De starka cover-versionerna visar i och för sig redan på killarnas kompetens, men man har dessutom fått med egna lyckade originalspår."

"För vänner av svängig partymusik är detta en verklig delikatess!"

-Mikke Nöjd,Blues News Finland, #4/2004


"När man får en CD som den här i handen blir man lika belåten som en katt som fått en skål grädde."

"Den här Cd:n får helt klart en stor guldstjärna. Gillar Du Wynonie Harris, Louis Jordan, Nick Curran så är den här skivan definitivt något för Dig – köp den!"

-Werna Nordqvist,AMM,2004


"Yet another Swedish band that jumps on the West Coast sound with both stylish feet."

-Jerry Hall, Pacific Blues,USA, July 2004

 

"Jag gillar skivan, den går varm hemma hos mig. Är en av de bästa skivorna jag hört i år."

-Madeleine Svensson,Stockholm,2004

 

Various Artists
Back To Their Roots      CPVCD801

"Sounds great!"
-Chris R. Olsen,Los Angeles,Oct.2004


"DETTA ÄR STOR musik. Amerikansk beundrarblues med Sven Zetterberg, Greger Andersson, Thomas Hammarlund samt Thomas Grahn i kompsällskap med några ruskigt spelsugna och duktiga kamrater. Någon röst sjunger lite småfalskt här och där. Det slirar till i käften när greppet om munspelet lossar för tidigt. Ett gitarrackord halkar en aning snett. En trumstock glider av sargen. En basgång tappar fotfästet en sekund. Men det spelar ingen roll. Eller också är det just det som spelar roll eftersom det är detaljer med mänskligt liv långt från putsad perfektionism.
För det här är rått, naket, spontant, ärligt, okrystat, engagerat och intensivt. 16 personligt utvalda blueslåtar inspelade utan konstigheter och pålägg. Låtar som haft en avgörande betydelse för dessa fyra medelålders och bluesdrogade veteraner.

Greger Andersson tar nästan livet av sig med ett råskitigt fett ljud i munspelet. ”Steady” är förkrossande som en hel symfoni av Sjostakovitj i sammandrag. Thomas Hammarlund gör om gitarren till en lasersvets och sjunger halvslött för att orka hem med ”I met a strange woman” utan att börja gråta. Sven Zetterlund svajar och sjunger gudomligt i ”Losing hand” och plockar blues på gitarren som när en svulten spov sliter mask ur hård jord. Thomas Grahn lägger ett skynke av gammalt rockeko över rösten i ”I’m a natural born lover” och ylar skräniga kåtrop i sitt munspel. Detta är Stort och nästan generande ärlig musik."

Betyg:C C C C

-Lasse Åbom,Corren,Aug 2004


"Anyone who questions just how far and wide the influence of the blues has become need look no further than this project. Once upon a time it would have seemed absurd to think of four guys from Sweden going back to their 'blues roots.' Yet there's been a strong and vibrant Scandinavian blues scene ever since the so-called 'blues revival' of the sixties. And if further proof is needed, a single listen to this excellent collection ought to convince anyone that Sweden's blues bands are the equal of any.
The gentlemen listed on the disc's cover - Thomas Hammarlund, Sven Zetterberg, Knock-Out Greg, and Thomas Grahn - probably won't be familiar to many readers beyond Sweden's borders. All are veterans, though, with extensive backgrounds. (For the record, Mr. Zetterberg is probably best known, and is considered something of an icon in his native land; Knock-Out Greg is the youngster of the bunch, though he, too, has several recordings under his belt). They're backed here by a revolving cast that includes various members from the bands each normally fronts. But Sweden's a small country, and all have played together at various times over the years. So there's a relaxed camaraderie obvious in every groove, a palpable sense of old friends gathering to make music together.

For this project, each was asked to bring in the songs that have either influenced or are simply among their personal favourites. And here's where it becomes apparent that all are pretty serious students of the blues; with the exception of "Little By Little," all the tunes are lesser-known gems that haven't, thankfully, been done to death. And while the sound here is decidedly retro - thick-toned harp, stinging guitar, stand-up bass, and lots of dirt - each approaches their chosen tunes determined to make 'em their own. So instead of mere imitation we get interpretation, though done in the classic style.

Zetterberg and Hammarlund both contribute vocals and guitar, as do Greg and Grahn, with the latter two also taking turns at harmonica. Additional instrumentation includes standard bass & drums, with some sparkling piano and a bit of sax to round things out. While there are occasional traces of an accent on the vocals, it's always very faint and never distracting.

The overall feel here, again, is 'classic retro,' for lack of a better term. The era is 50's Chicago, with tough, tight grooves and seamless ensemble playing the order of the day. Solos are short and to the point - the extended self-indulgence endemic to the genre these days is notably absent - and performances are absolutely top-notch throughout. And that's why this disc is so appealing. While the review format keeps things interesting over a generous sixteen-song playlist, there's a cohesive and cooperative ethos at work, with everyone collaborating for the good of the whole.

This is an absolutely stellar effort, proof that the blues are indeed a universal language and that there's no borders when it comes to the ability to play 'em convincingly, with both commanding authority and a lot of fun."

Very highly recommended!

-John R. Taylor,Blues On Stage,USA,August 2004

 

"Back To Their Roots är en cool platta som ger en god ögonblicksbild av svensk vintagebetonad blues idag. En riktig rökig afterhoursplatta!"

-Michael Linderoth,Fuzz Mag.,Sweden,2004

 

"Bra svensk blues med amerikanska "rötter" väl bevarade."

-Thord Ehnberg,Ljusnan,Juni,2004

 

"En av de bästa svenska bluesplattor jag hört på länge. ... Detta är den där renodlade bluesplattan med de främsta av vad svensk blues har att erbjuda. Jag tycker vi kan vara riktigt stolta."

-Staffan Solding,Jefferson #140,2004

 

".....fast Zetterberg köper jag ändå, olyssnad och orecenserad."

-Germund Silvegren, Malmö,2004

 

"Fyra skickliga bluesvokalister i samarbete. Musik av några av bluesens främst. Det kan ju inte bli fel!"

"Här finns bluesens vemod och starka känslor den musiken frambringar. Här finns också det härliga gunget. Det för tankarna till de influenser bluesen har på jazzen och hade på den tidiga rockmusiken. Det här är en del av vår musikhistoria."

Omdöme: 5 stjärnor

-Kjell Jansson,Värnamo Nyheter,Maj 2004

 

"Throughout this sixteen track set, many great numbers such as; Muddy Waters, ” I’m a Natural Born Lover ”, Jimmy Reeds’ “I Wanna Be Loved” and Albert Kings’ “Heart Fixin’ Business" are played with such an uncannily rich textured period feel that the music seems to immerse itself into your subconscious leaving you; refreshed, relaxed and a warm afterglow lingers on for quite a time afterwards. The sheer vitality and professionalism never flag for a second. One for the collection I would say!"

-Brian Harman,BluesArtStudio,Austria,2004

 

"Ide´n är lika enkel som smart. Man tar gräddan av Sveriges blueselit, låter var och en av dem välja sina favoritlåtar och spelar sedan in sångerna utan vidare förberedelser. Jag förstår inte hur det ska kunna gå fel.

"Back To Their Roots flödar av bra låtar och starka framträdande. Trots att det handlar om nyinspelningar känns soundet förvånansvärt tidsenligt. Sven Zetterberg visar som vanligt framfötterna (i synnerhet i en grym version av Losing Hand), men har rakt igenom hård konkurrens från övriga aktörer, vilket säger allt om plattans klass.

Gillar du musik borde du gilla Back To Their Roots."
Betyg: 4 fjädrar av 5 = Utmärkt

-Henrik Rydström,Barometern,2004



"Fyra av Sveriges bästa bluesröster reser tillbaka till sina rötter. Det blev detta utmärkta album med mängder av fina klassiker i nyinspelningar av herrar Thomas Hammarlund, Thomas Grahn, Knock-Out Greg & Sven Zetterberg.
Låtar av Willie Dixon, Sonny Boy Williamson, Otis Rush och många fler får liv igen. Det finns en stark och lång bluestradition i landet och när eliten tar hand om det hela blir det bra. Möjligen kunde man önskat sig mer av sådant som inte är lika förutsägbart och traditionellt. Men det är en radanmärkning."

-Rating: 3/5 -Björn G. Stenberg,Upsala Nya Tidn.,2004

 

"The harmonica players Greger Andersson, better known as Knock-Out Greg and now gaining a reputation in this country through his association with Mike Sanchez (one or the leading lights of the UK blues and rocking R'n'B scene),and Thomas Grahn - who recorded an excellent tribute to Walter Horton a few years back - are represented with five and three harmonica tracks respectively, whilst Sven Zetterberg also contributes some fine harp to one track"

"The standard of playing is exeptionally high on a largely Chicago blues oriented set; Greg's cover of Rice 'Sonny Boy No. 2' Miller's ' I don't know' is worth the price of admission by itself but all the tracks are worth hearing !"

-Norman Darwen,Harmonica World,UK, April 2004


"Tackar för en utmärkt cd platta!!! Ja, något annat var knappast att vänta med dessa garvade musiker."

-Göran Broling,Gnosjö,2004


"I think it's good music"

".....and for all my harp 'freaks' over here who now 'know' about those guys-they like it too....."

-Jerry Hall, Pacific Blues, Burbank, CA, 2004

 

"Gratulerar till en suverän skiva! Vi lyssnade på den i bussen nu i helgen när vi var och spelade - imponerande ljud & lir!"

-Tommy Moberg,Trick Bag/Sthlm,2004


..."vilken insats för den svenska bluesen!!!, Det känns verkligen som om det här gänget har haft en avslappnad session i studion."

-Mattias Frisk, Bluesministrarna, Skåne, 2004

 

"COOOOOL CD !!"
-"Edogawa Slim",Japan,2004


.."Raka motsatsen till Eckos syntburna soul (eller blues, eller…) möter vi på CeePeeVees senaste CD (CPVCD 801): en nostalgitripp spikrakt bakåt till 1950-talet, när Thomas Grahn, Thomas Hammarlund, Knock-Out Greg och Sven Zetterberg lirar "gamla favoriter". I sin genre kommer det här att bli en av 2004 års bästa svenska produktioner."

-Saxat ur Smokestack's nyhetsbrev/ Mars 2004


"Maybe some day you guys will hit the circuit down here"

-Mike Murray,Dallas,TX,2004


"Kanonskiva! Tror att man häller upp en liten "cowboyläsk" (whisky) och lutar sig bakåt."

-Mats Bäckman,Dorotea,2004

 

"Mycket bra cd" "Härligt med bolag som satsar på the real blues"

-Claes Runbalk,Mölndal,2004



"Jag måste säga att skivan var mycket, mycket bra."

--Sverker Olofsson, Kisa, 2004

 

"great cd. det kan inte bli bättre"

-Roger Sannemo, Strömsund, 2004

 

"Skivan är en riktig pärla. Jag tycker man märker den relaxade atmosfären"

-Tommy Löfgren, Stockholm, 2004

 

" Verkligen en KANONPLATTA! Den borde varje bluesälskare i Sverige skaffa."

-Kenneth Pettersson, Södertälje,2004



Blues Down Town
Everlasting Blues  CPVCD701

 

".....Blues Down Town är sååå bra, det är låtar med en riktig Chicago feeling...."

-Håkan Winlöf, Sverige 2007

 

"Här serveras läcker blues i Chicago- och Louisiana-style, så man sitter med sina hörlurar belåtet tillbakalutad i fåtöljen och bara stormnjuter."

".....det är Thomas Grahn och Claes Parmland som med fingertoppskänsla satt superkvalitet avseende ljud och mix på produktionen."

".....får mig att känna atmosfären i en välbesökt, inrökt källarklubb någonstans i den amerikanska södern, med dunkel belysning, där ett trött bluesband spelar, där ölglasen klirrar och ett dovt sorl av prat blandas med publiken."

" Det här är en kanon-CD - och man behöver inte vara bluesfantast för att rätt uppskatta den här skivan."

Betyg: Guldstjärna

-Werna Nordqvist, American Music Magazine, Sept, 2004


"Everlasting Blues" is the fourth disc from Sweden's Blues Down Town, marking the twentieth anniversary since the band first came together. Not surprisingly, there have been a few personnel changes over the years, and a period or two of relative inactivity. And given Sweden's relatively small size and tightly-knit blues scene, it's also no surprise that Blues Down Town have made a few friends over the years, a few of whom drop by the lend support here.
But while most readers won't recognize the names, the parties involved have delivered a platter that can stand up quite well indeed to virtually any of the many bands mining the retro 50's Chicago-by-way-of-west-coast sound these days. (And there are, let's face it, a lot).

Which means front man Thomas Grahn, responsible for harp and vocals, leads his four-piece backing band through a generous sixteen-song collection that features two from Little and one from Big Walter (Grahn acquits himself admirably) and a handful of originals. Also included are one from Fenton Robinson (the rhumba-flavoured "Tenessee Woman" that opens the disc) and a bonus pair of live cuts (Muddy's "Sail On" and a lively "Further Up The Road") that bring things to a close.

These gentlemen have clearly done their homework, and over the years have honed their craft to a razor-sharp edge. The tone is gloriously fat, with lots of reverb and natural echo, but the playing is anything but. All concerned understand the value of understatement, and performances are invariably lean and economical. Grahn sings with power and assurance, his accent only getting in the way on occasion, and never to the point of distraction. There's some stellar guitar playing, and both horns and piano are used here and there to excellent effect. (Fredrik "Mighty Fred" Gustafsson is exemplary on piano, comping furiously in the background). And the rhythm section chugs along like the proverbial freight train, as sturdy and as steady, yet with just that touch of loose relaxation, as the best around.

In short, this one's a winner all the way. It's tough stuff, just as it ought to be, with lots of distorted menace. But it swings like mad, too. Taken, in total, from five different sessions, "Everlasting Blues" shows care, craft and intelligence. But more than anything - the only thing, really, that matters - this disc is the blues as the blues was meant to be. Raw and real, dark and liberating. It's wonderful stuff."

Well done, Blues Down Town!!! Highly recommended!

-John R. Taylor,Blues On Stage,USA,August 2004

 


"The rhythym guitar and the vocals are recorded soooo well! All the songs are really nice. You guys are great !"

"Good job too Claes. You have really evolved as a player,songwriter and producer."

-Jim Dulfer,Florida,USA,2004

 

"Swedish bands 4th and best record to date !"

-Jerry Hall, Los Angeles, 2004


"Anche il Grande Nord sa tingersi di nero e di blues e anche vicino al circolo polare soffia il vento che invece di venire dal nord soffia da Ovest, direttamente dalla città ventosa per eccellezza: Chicago. La Blues Down Town è ormai da vent'anni in marcia a proporre blues in locali, ristoranti, pub, festival e quant'altro sanno organizzare in Scandinavia. Il suono della band non lascia spazio a discussioni o innovazioni, la musica, il ritmo, gli assoli, tutto sapora di Chicago e del periodo del suo blues magico. I cinque hanno messo su ormai un suono compatto e preciso, corposo quanto basta per una reinterpretazione calorosa delle dodici battute d'ordinanza, senza prendersi il lusso o la vogli di smascherare la tradizione. Un disco canonico, ben eseguito nelle sue parti, ma che forse avremmo voluto con qualche slancio e coraggio in più. Everlasting Blues è comunque un esempio onesto di come il blues non abbia confini o latitudini.

-Roberto Menabò, Bluestime,Italy,2004

 

"Enorm platta"
P-O Westin,Tierp, 2004

 

..."de spiller også låter og har et lydbilde som ser bakover i tiden"

"Deres egne låter som Bad Luck Boy, You Should Have Listened, Bayou Bounce, Everlasting Love og Stuck In Quicksand høres også ut som om de er skrevet før 1960"

"Alt dyktig reprodusert"

"Håndverksmessig er det greit levert"

-Gunnar Svensson,Blues News,Norge,2004

 

" I first came aware of this Swedish five-piece a couple of years ago when I heard and very much enjoyed their third album, featuring Stockholm Slim (of Magic Sam and Delmark fame) as a special guest. Even then I felt they were good enough to trust to their own merits and here they do just that.

This is probabably best described as 'a traditional blues set' -- vocalist Thomas Grahn has a slight accent in places but it actually recalls John Lee Williamson and as a harpman he can bring to mind Little and Big Walters and George Smith without any apparent effort! Guitarists Thomas Prim and Claes Parmland mesh with and complement each other wonderfully and Lennart Fagerstrom (bass) and drummer Stephen Rosenberg give the mainly fifties Chicago styled music -- though with a hint of the swamp and a "Mississippi Steamboat" which is storming classic Texas -- just the push it needs.

There are several originals which fit in very neatly alongside borrowings from the likes of Fenton Robinson, Little Walter, Detroit Junior, Bobby Bland and Muddy Waters. There is the obligatory tip of the hat to Magic Sam -- though maybe it's Luther Allison's headgear, in fact -- and elsewhere there are elements of Freddy and Albert King.

The booklet is nice too, with the history of the band, plenty of photos, and recording data. All in all, this is a pretty impressive CD -- which is just as you would expect from an outfit marking its twentieth anniversary!"

-Rating: 8 -- NORMAN DARWEN, January 2004

 

"Ni är fantastiskt bra, skönt sound, ruskigt tajt och ett häng som är väldigt medryckande...."

-Peter Magnusson,Borås 2003

 

"It's another fine cd from this band: downhome, no nonsense, straight in your face blues."

-Marcus Fischer,Germany 2003


"Ni är nog fanimej sveriges bästa "riktiga" bluesband, punkt och slut"

-Josh Brenner,Nov.2003

 

Sture Elldin And His Bluesharp    CPVCD601

 

"I am very much impressed. Sture is a harmonica player whose focus is on the tone, just like in case of James Cotton. There are not many harp players who care so much about tonality these days so it is refreshing to know Sture. His technique is precise but it's obvious that feeling is more important for him. Musicians who accompany him are also first class providing good base for his improvisations. Their take on Chicago blues reminds me the classic era of 1950s-60s when small blues combos were playing for workers and people who lived rough and needed music that was rough, not for tourists. All that, together with rich and informative booklet makes Sture Elldin's disc and essential listen for every serious blues fan!"

- Przemek Draheim,Blues DJ, Poland

 

"Det här är bluesmunspelaren Sture Elldins debutplatta i eget namn. Sture har tidigare medverkat på en singel med Promille Hill Bluesband 1981 och på den fina munspelsantologin ”Horton´s Briefcase” som gavs ut på CeePeeVee för några år sedan. Det är en ganska mager skivproduktion med tanke på att han varit aktiv på den svenska bluesscenen i cirka 30 år. Desto roligare är det då förstås att Sture nu får tillfälle att visa upp sitt stora kunnande på en egen platta.
Sture Elldins kännetecken som munspelare är den feta och komprimerade ton han pressar fram ur sitt munspel. Framförallt är det i Chicagobluesen han har sin musikaliska förankring, men man kan också höra en viss påverkan från sydstatsbluesen.
”Sture Elldin And His Bluesharp” är en skiva där munspelet verkligen står i fokus, vilket ju faller sig helt naturligt med Sture som huvudperson."

" I vissa låtar som t.ex. ”Tin Pan Alley” och ”Hard Hearted Woman” funkar sången riktig bra, medan det i en del andra fall inte låter lika bra. Fina munspelsinsatser kryllar det dock av. Exempel på detta hör vi bl.a. i instrumentalerna ”Things Ain´t What They Used To Be” och ”West Coast Jump”, den sistnämnda för övrigt skriven av Sture.
Till sist jag också framhålla det lyhörda och stiltrogna kompet bakom Sture, innehållande en rad välkända musiker, som också i högsta grad bidrar till det lyckade resultatet.
Det här är en fin debutplatta av Sture Elldin och dessutom ännu en fjäder i hatten för CeePeeVee Records."

-Kjell Wikström,Crossroads,Kalmar 2002


" Music, of course, is a universal language. And we all know the feeling we call the blues is an equally universal emotional experience.

But some things simply don't translate all that well.

Sture Elldin is from Sweden, as are all the players on this, his first full-length release featuring tracks from a number of sessions cut primarily in Stockholm between 1999 and 2001. (The closer, a cover of Little Walter's "Everything's Gonna Be Alright," was waxed in 1995). Sture plays some very fine harmonica, and the players for the most part acquit themselves well enough. But to my ears the vocals are simply too tongue-tangled to work properly.

Perhaps it's churlish to complain; Sture is obviously sincere in his love of the blues. He's been doing it, according to the disc's liner notes, since the seventies, and even garnered a nomination as "Best Blues Instrumentalist" in Living Blues Magazine back in 1983. He's made pilgrimages to Clarksdale, Mississippi and to Chicago, and has backed artists of significant stature, including Big Jack Johnson and Magic Slim. He's blessed with a full, fat tone and an obvious intelligence, favouring taste over dexterity and understanding the value of understatement when it comes to getting his musical message across.

In short, there's much to like about this generous eighteen-track collection. The feel is classic 50's Chicago, with tunes from the likes of Little Walter, Jimmy's Reed and Rogers, and Sonny Boy Williamson. He throws in a couple of originals, including the somewhat misnamed "West Coast Jump" (pure Chicago - perhaps he meant "west side?") and the brooding "Quarter To Two." And there are a couple of pleasant surprises, notably an interesting "Summertime" and a melodic reading of Ellington's "Things Ain't What They Used To Be."

Production is adequate, given they're obviously after that retro 50's sound, fat and echoey, though there's a bit of annoying crackle from some of the sessions.

Still, for all the good here, it's marred by Sture's stilted vocal delivery. One can get past the accent easily enough, but beyond that there's simply not enough passion, not enough feeling to his singing. I'm not sure if it's because English proves difficult or whether it's simply a matter of style, but it's definitely to the music's detriment.

This one's interesting, and likeable enough, but given how much recorded blues is out there, I'd have to stop short of calling it a must-have . . . "

-John Taylor-Blues On Stage,Mars 2003


"...dessutom har Little Walter och Sture Elldin även konstnärliga beröringspunkter."

"...man kan på goda grunder anse att båda är helt oslagbara ,(omöjliga harpkonstnärer."

"...enligt den gängse stilen har man igen åstadkommit en rätt så exemplarisk komposition, på vars bakgrund man hittar både talang, kunskap och stil."

"...CD´ns musik är i överlag av mycket god kvalitet och även det lyckade urvalet av musikstycken tjänar ett erkännande."

"...utöver de med förståelse tolkade bluesklassikerna finns där också ett par egna "Blå Tornado"."

"...en produktion som respekterar gamla traditioner."

-Wesa Valamies, Blues News no.5-2002


"BEAUTIFUL ALBUM - but heard before"

-Crosscut Records, Germany , 2002

 

"........Great CD........Mr.Elldin has a new fan ! "

-Ed Hortelius, St.Paul,MS

 

..." för den besitter något essentiellt vad den här egentligen handlar om, utan glamour och glitter."

..." även de vokala inslagen kan ibland fungera riktigt bra."

..." och hinner därmed bottna, leta sig in i själens alla blå skrymslen och gömmor."

..." en av föregångarna i det här landet när det gäller bluesmunspel "...

" Exempel på fina tunga saker med Stures speciella komprimerade ton och klassiska frasering är de två egna kompsitionerna West Coast Jump och Quarter To Two."

" Ta till exempel Tin Pan Alley, sådana där inspelningar görs egentligen inte idag........."

Olle Wallin, Jefferson no.133, 2002


 

Blues Down Town
Downtracked  CPVCD501


"And dudes and dudettes, listen to Blues Down Town's latest CD, "Downtracked". Great Chicago Blues music, and add to that sound those lonely Jazzy tunes from special guest Tommy Holmström on the Saxophone, and you get one of the best Blues CD's from a Stockholm Bluesband in many years. Another guest on the CD is old time Swedish pianist Slim Notini. Recommended. "

- Anders"Papa Blues"Karlsson,2001

 

"... some of the best blues i´ve heard in a long time."

-Duane Krull ,MN,USA

" In any event the music is great.Thomas Grahn is not Swedish, is he? He certainly doesn't sound Swedish. I think you guys have nailed the blues sound superbly."
" I am really impressed ! "

-Mike Murray, Dallas TX. 2003

"Once again another great CD. I enjoyed every song. The playing is superb, the timing and "feel" is so very authentic and the vocals are perfect. There are not many, or any white American blues bands who play this kind of true-blue blues with the polish and finesse that you guys have. Congratulations!! "

-Jim Dulfer, Florida,USA,2003

"Blues Down Town" is vintage 50's style Chicago Blues played with emotion by musicians who understand the idiom and are experienced enough to breath life into material that is too often approached as a museum piece and not the vibrant musical force that it still is.

Roughly half the 16 tracks are originals alongside a nice mix of well - known and more obscure covers. Singer - harpist Thomas Grahn and guitarist Claes Parmland wrote the originals with Grahn receiving credit for three, Parmland one and three being collaborations, including the set's centerpiece.

"I Walked The Streets", is seven minutes of moody remorse punctuated by plaintive vocals, tortured harp work and spectral guitar chords that levitate the song. and carry it through the late night mists before fading out at dawn.

The covers are highlighted by the Willie Dixon chestnut "The Same Thing" and instrumental, "Moanin' for Molasses". The interplay between Parmland and fellow guitarist Thomas Prim propels both cuts. The former is a pure Chicago tavern workout while the later clocks in at 2:33 of concise elation, aided and abetted by guest J.T. Holmstrom's Saxophone.

Other standout cuts include Grahn's romping "Wild, Wild Woman" and the Little Walter Jacobs double feature, "Little Girl" and "Don't Have to Hunt No More" which acknowledges the harpists' debt to Jacobs' influence.

-Bill Halaszynski, BluesOn Stage, March2002

 

"....this outfit have a real flair for both classic Chicago and Louisiana blues (plus some original material).A glance at the titels gives a reasonably accurate idea of their approach , though not of the consummate ease of their playing which impresses throughout. The guitarists Thomas Prim and Claes Parmland never descend into rock but stay clean and focussed, the rhythm section swings and leader Thomas Grahn impresses with his on-the-ball harp playing."

"....tenor saxman J.T. Holmstrom is, I gather,a veteran of the Scandinavian blues scene and his playing is suitably direct and dirty, particularly on "Poormouthin´".

"....handling the piano duties for this set is none other than Per Notini aka. Stockholm Slim, a name which for those of a certain age will forever be associated with Magic Sam´s "West Side Soul" album".

" His playing here is confident and mature on the seven tracks that he graces, and his precence has at least assured that this classy set of European blues attracts a wider potential audience than it would otherwise have done".

- Norman Darwen, Blues&Rhythm No.166/February 2002


"Le troisieme album de Blues Down Town, la formation bien connue basée a`Stockholm, s´appele "Downtracked". Dans leurs rangs, deux vététerans de la scène suédoise, l'harmoniciste Thomas Grahn, et le guitariste Tomas Prim. Leur domaine favori est le blues de Chicago, et ils maitrisent le son rude et farouche de la Windy City. Grahn est un musicien hors pair, adepte du style de Little Walter a`l'harmo, et chanteur a`la sensibilitè crue. Compositions originales et couvertures se tiennent la balance, et ils se font accompanger au piano par le légendaire "Stockholm Slim" Notini, ex-compagnon de Magic Sam. Tout bon."

"Den tredje plattan från Blues Down Town, den välkända stockholmsbaserade gruppen, heter "Downtracked". I gruppen kan inräknas två veteraner inom den svenska bluesscenen, nämligen munspelaren Thomas Grahn och gitarristen Tomas Prim. Deras favoritdomän är Chicagobluesen, och de kan skapa råheten och hårdheten från the Windy City. Grahn är en oförliknelig musiker, med en munspelsstil starkt påverkad av Little Walter och en sångare med känsla. Originallåtar och covers balanserar väl, och på piano finns också legenden "Stockholm Slim" Notini, som tidigare spelat med Magic Sam. Mycket bra."

- Bluestidningen Rollin' & Tumblin, Luxemburg, nr 20 december 2001

 

" Das bisher beste Album der schwedischen Traditionalisten, die hier ein stilechtes 50er Chicago-Blues-Album abliefern; obskure Cover und eigene Titel. Klingt gut / their best so far. Authentic ´50s style Chicago Blues, obscure covers and originals. Sounds good."

-Detlev Hoegen/CrossCut Records,Dec.2001


" Gamla strävsamma Blues Down Town är som ett årgångsvin som allt mer förädlas och mognat. Man har funnit sin stil och fördjupat den. Trots viss mångsidighet är det ändå i den djupare Chicagomyllan som bandet har sin starkaste sida."

" Detta är blues som påminner oss om hur det kunde låta i Chicago vid mitten av femtiotalet, oavsett av om det är gamla (oftast mindre kända) låtar av den tidens bluesmän, eller egna original."

" Det tunga munspelet, hanterat av Thomas Grahn, sätter helt stilriktigt den största prägeln på musiken. Men även gitarrspelet, i händerna på Thomas Prim och Claes Parmland, understryker var musiken hör hemma, såväl i tid som i rum."

" ......på den här plattan har man också sökt sig utanför "the Windy City", dock fortfarande stabilt kvar i det traditionella."

" Ytterligare tyngd till några av dessa spår bidrar utan tvekan Stockholm Slim och hans piano med, samt J.T.Holmström stilistiskt riktiga saxofonspel."

" Kort sagt:en mustig och gedigen platta med god traditionell blues och med det rätta inspelningssoundet."

-Olle Wallin/Jefferson # 130,Dec.2001

 

"....mix covers with originals in a well performed set of straight-ahead blues"
".....Thomas Grahn blows some fine harp"

-Juke Blues nr. 51, 2002


Horton's Briefcase  CPVCD401


"Walter's signature songs played by the who's who of the Scandinavian harp-players - American harp fans need too hear these guys !"

-Jerry Hall,Pacific Blues,USA

Ruotsalaiset blues-harpistit ovat omistaneet tämän kokoelman legendaariselle Chicago-bluesin mestarille Big Walter Hortonille, joka ehti vierailla Ruotsissa useaan otteeseen. Cd:n musiikki koostuu pääosin Hortonin esittämistä kappaleista, eli tarjolla on tukeva 18 raidan paketti perinteistä Chicago-bluesia. Bluesin taso on Ruotsissa nykyään yllättävän korkea, sillä tälle kokoelmalle on löytynyt kuusi harpistia, jotka kaikki ovat kelvollisia. Tosin joidenkin lauluilmaisu on hieman kalvakkaa tai huuliharppusooloissa on ideoiden niukkuutta. Vahvimman vaikutuksen tekee soittajista nimekkäin, Sven Zetterberg, joka pärjäisi melkein missä tahansa amerikkalaisessakin yhtyeessä.

-Matti Laipio


"Horton's Briefcase is one of the best white blues records what i ever heard. Thank you for fine job."

-Timo Koskinen,Vantaa,Finland,2004

 

"How many yearnings and the sense of reverence for big artist in Chicago, the musicians in Sweden. It is unfathomable, it is deep and hot, you only have to hear their playing once, you can understand. This is the one work that concentrated and became a form, it is made by feelings of respect. This is very good harmonica album that has many must-hear points, musicians all have their tribute feelings for Walter Horton. They are all fame harpists in Sweden, including Sven that's a great guitarist, he is respected by blues-men in U.S.A."

-Apple Jam,Japan,2001

 

" Sven Zetterberg's versin on "Hard Hearted Woman" is the best I ever heard, next after Big Walters original."

-Kim Wilson Nov.2003

" First I´m find the album really enjoyable. Zetterberg is really good - his tone isn´t perfectly Walter, but his phrasing and note choices are right on. Sjöström has more of Walter´s reedy tone. He and Grahn don´t quite have Walter´s easy swing, but still good. Grahn does a nice job on La Cucaracha. Andersson swings and sings better. I liked his feel on Card Game quite a bit, and also Cotton Patch, that swung in a very Horton way. The piano enhances a lot too. Dafgård´s Fumblin Around was very Horton-esqe. Elldin´s whole set felt really good. " Although I´m sure there is no way to sell much of this,the whole album is such a loving tribute that I´m very glad it was made. I seriously doubt that I could have found a batch of US players who would have done it any better."

-Bruce Iglauer,Alligator Records,March 2001

" Fans of Big Walter,and fans of ´50s-style Chicago/Memphis blues in general,will enjoy this anthology of Swedish artists paying tribute to their master.Although the names will be umfamilar to most American blues fans,artists including Sven Zetterberg, Jan Sjöström, Thomas Grahn and Sture Elldin (among the six featured) play in a wide range of Horton styles and even manage to sing in his fashion. Some tracks (Louise,Louise and Everybody´s Fishin´) feature only guitar and harp but most are ensemle efforts. Cotton Patch Hot Foot is played as quartet; the knocking of the woodblocks lends it an almost cowboy flavor. Little Boy Blue features the swooping,expansive lines Horton was famous for and Sneakin´and Hidin´ reworks one of the powerful slow blues Horton recorded for Testament.

Lovers of blues harp will find Horton´s Briefcase to be an enthusiastic and well-played ode to one of the blues´ finest harmonica players."

-Peter R Aschoff, Living Blues no.1, 2001

"In fact it´s not the usual tribute album at all. There´s so much attention to details, from the exactly-in-period backing, to the beautifully understated vocals to the magnificent tone these Swedish harp blowers achive. Not only do they capture the Horton licks, but his intonation and sound. Even the vocals sound like Horton´s (especially Thomas Grahn). The effect is breathtaking, in fact it sounds like a recently unearthed recording from the era".

"Now, this begs a question, one you might be asking. If these are such faithful renditions of authentic Chicago harmonica blues, what´s the point? If like me, you have these as originals, what do you want these modern reproductions for? There are, however, few who can play at this supreme level of harmonica playing. Believe me, it is good. It´s exciting to hear blues of this calibre anywhere, not just in Europe, and for lovers of blues harmonica, particular amplified Chicago style, this is like getting all your favourite chocolates in one box."

"Those of you who heard of "Knock-Out Greg & Blue Weather" whose Greger Anderson graces 3 cuts here, will already know that his top Swedish band could knock spots off anyone in the USA. Anderson is in the States this year, I believe, and may get word out to a wider audience that Sweden has some blues musos who would be fearsome competition in an old style "cutting contest"."

"If you´re a blues harp fan, this is especially recomended. It´s worth it just for Sven Zetterberg´s "Little Boy Blue" and Jan"Harmonica Henry" Sjöström´s "Easy". These two musicians demonstrate absolute mastery of tone and intonation."

-Mike Garner, The New Zealand
Blues Society. April,2001

 

"-but suffice to say there are some fabulous performances here.Worth tracking down......"

-Juke Blues # 48 winter 2001,England

"...especially Swedish harp fans,who have put together a wonderful tribute interpreting Horton´s work." "...... have phrasing, tone, vibrato and the touch. Sympathetic backing and a vintage recording vibe make this a must for lovers of Horton -and lovers of the harp."

-Tom Hyslop, Blues Revue #65 March 2000, USA

" What an expensive prodject ! The finest Scandinavian harp players assembled to record an album with tunes Horton did during his career. Do we need an album with 18 Horton-covers? Tough questions. What i know is that it´s pure fun listening to this high-quality album. 24-page booklet with rare photos of Horton. Exellent ! "

-Detlev Hoegen CrossCut Records, Fall 2000 , Germany

" Nog vet vårt västra grannland hur blues skall låta." ".....där finns alla Horton´s viktigaste och musikaliskt sett väsentligaste låtar. Somliga har undrat över min entusiasm över den här jäkeln till skiva,det är trots allt imitation. Det har jag undrat över själv också och efter funderingar har jag kommit fram till att det beror på den jämna kvaliteten."

-Vesa Walamies Blues News # 5 2000, Finland

"-Og en fin hyllest har det absolutt blitt. Man hörer respekten for Horton klart skinne igjenom i alle tolkningene. Uansett holder alle bidragene höy kvalitet, samme hva man framhever. Skryt må også bakingbandene på plata få for en fortreffelig tradisjonalistisk jobb."

-Richard Gjems Blues News # 5, November 2000, Norge

"Horton's Briefcase ger varje solist tre spår vardera att övertyga oss om att just de gjort sig förtjänta av det exklusiva utrymmet - och jag kan lugnt försäkra att alla tar den chansen...
Min gissning är att Hortons Briefcase med tiden kommer att framstå som en svensk bluesklassiker."

-Olle Wallin, Jefferson Blues Magazine, no.126/2000

"Det handlar om träffsäkra tolkningar av Hortons låtar.Känsla och avskalad naken blues fyller hela plattan till bristningsgränsen med musik som kommer att stå sig i många år.Svenska trollkonster på munspel kan låta riktigt bra,lita på det."

-Greger Lööf, Värnamo Nyheter,Sept.2000

"Och det är i sanning en själfullt ylande samling! Amerikanarna behöver definitivt inte känna att Hortons minne solkas,tvärtom.Detta är en i högsta grad värdig och kärleksfull hyllning av herrar med blues i blodet."

- Harald Bergengren Hallands Nyheter,Okt.2000

"... finns några riktiga kanonspår som bör finnas med i varje bluesdiggares öron-register,exempelvis: 'Southern Women', framförd av Zetterberg, 'Louise,Louise' framförd av Sjöström och 'Cotton Patch Hot Foot' med Greger Andersson bakom munspelet.

...det snygga konvolutet är värt ett omnämnande. Man får en bio-grafi över Horton från ett svenskt perspektiv och varje munspelare på skivan berättar om sin relation till Big Walter. Observeras bör att på låten 'La Cucuracha' spelar någon marackas, men okänt vem. Unknown. Precis som på 1950-talet vet man inte vem som trillat in i studion den dagen."

-Fredrik Sandberg, Länstidningen Södertälje, Okt.2000


"Big Walter left quite an impression on Sweden, as evidenced by this tribute. Six of Sweden´s finest players interpreting Horton classics,and doing them well."

-Blues Access # 45,spring 2001


Harmonica Henry & the Bluesrockers
Harp Rumble     CPVCD301

"Swedish bluesmen Harmonica Henry & The Blues Rockers have an authentic roadhouse sound....."

-Ed Ivey Blues Revue,July 2000, USA


....some of the finest musicians from Sweden playing Chicago style blues, strictly the 50´s way. Perfect sound. "

-Detlev Hoegen CrossCut Records,Germany


"Janne Sjöström är en bra sångare,men än mera anmärkningsvärd som munspelare. Han täcker in bluesmunspelets hela register, från nyanserat akustiskt spel och spel i olika positioner, till rått och tungt elektriskt." ......"den mest övertygande bluesmunspels platta som hitintills gjorts i Sverige."

-Olle Wallin Delsbo, 1999 , Sweden


"Harmonica Henry är ett av de stilsäkraste gängen i Sverige när det gäller 50-talsblues."

- Bosse Majling Jefferson Blues magasin # 123/2000, Sweden


"One of Sweden´s finest outfits and veterans of 20 years work turn in a credible homage to Little Walter and the Chicago sound.Still detect an accent,though."

-Blues Access # 42,summer 2001


Blues Down Town
Evil Chaser      CPVCD201

"...Well, I'm thinkin' that those guys from Sweden are some of the best I've ever heard from Europe"

-VFM RADIO, Croatia,2000

"These Swedes have that West Coast blues thing down, from the tasty guitar work to the chromatic harp tone. I'd pay to see them if I was in Sweden."

-Blues Access, Fall-1999, USA

Consider the straight-from-the-50's sound of Evil Chaser, new from Blues Down Town. Lockwood-inspired guitars and dirty out-front harp outline the group's interests; the disc starts with the rumba bang of "As long as the World Go Round" and continues through Little Walter jumps, lightning boogies and low-down shuffles. The warped minor sounds of the title cut suggest a duel between Peter Green and Jodie Williams; George "Harmonica" Smith's "Teardrops Falling" is another stand out."

-Tom Hyslop, Blues Revue oct 1999, USA

"De spelar med en tyngd och autktoritet som man förväntar sig höra i Chicago. Snygga munspelsriff och ett lyhört växelspel mellan gitarristerna. ... Evil Chaser står sig mycket bra i den internationella konkurensen."

-Tommy Löfgren, Jefferson Blues Magazine nr.120 1999, Sweden

"Blues Down Town is one of the hardest swinging blues bands I've heard in a long time. The vocals and harmonica of Thomas Grahn, is very solid. In fact the entire band is tight as any Chicago blues band you can image."

-Jesse Ervin, Southland Blues Magazine july 1999

"Great stuff! I enjoyed it highly!"

-Esa Kuloniemi, Blues Maffia radioshow, Finland

"... the playing is fine in the style of the greatest West coast and Chicago style blues players."

-Detlev Hoegen, CrossCut Records

" Spelar Chicagoblues utan kompromiss även om bandet byggt upp en delvis egen repertoire, så känns det som man står på Maxwell street i Chicago, när man lyssnar till bandet. Autentiskt, svängigt och mycket munspelsblues i Little Walter samt Walter Hortons anda, där Thomas Grahn är munspelare och frontman."

-Restaurang Stampen,Mars 2000



Blues Down Town
State of Blue      CPVCD101


"Det är en otroligt stilsäker blues, med mycket av 50-talets Chicago över sig, som hörs. Ett supertight auktoritärt och självklart framförande gör inte det hela sämre."

-Bosse Majling, Jefferson Blues Magazine, Fall-1997, Sweden

"Lyssnaren känner säkert igen sin Muddy Waters, Little Walter, Big Walter, Sonny Boy, Willie Dixon och de andra stora chicagomusikerna i de flesta sångerna. Inspiration väger tungt även i det egna materialet. Vördnaden inför hjältarnas storhet är inte kvävande, snarare inspirerande."

-Staffan Solding, Jazz Stage, 1997, Sweden

"This is a good band with a nice feel for old style blues."

-Bruce Iglauer, USA

"Unlike many euro-groups this one captures an authentic blues feel."

-Blues Access magazine, winter-1998, USA

"...a mean harp through out", "West Palm Groove, an original midtempo number, is rich with harp and guitar interplay."

-Blues Revue, USA

"Great 50's Chicago and West Coast style blues. Sounds very American."

-Detlev Hoegen, MD CrossCut Records, Germany

"Sammansvetsat band med inga ambitioner till överdriven virousitet, utan bara helt enkelt väldigt tight."

-Micke Nöjd, Blues News 3/1998, Finland

"Hell you guys really cook" - "Blues Down Town are the real thing, no half baked euro copiest but musos who love their music". "Tasty guitar and great harp work". "Thomas Grahn's harp is down south then soars up north."

-Big Al Watts, 1998, Australia